Tell me who does not struggle with Self-control ? Who has their life so together that can control or master their own behaviors, responses or desires of their flesh? Can you fully control your feelings, finances, food, speech, lusts, addictions, behaviors, worries, and relationships?

1. ooverc

Everybody has something they cannot say no to. If one examines ourselves closely then we realize our mistakes and weaknesses. We may find ourselves feeling ashamed. We either feel like a failure or extremely guilty. Our response to these feelings can vary in that we may deny the truth of our behavior, we justify our reasons for doing it, we try in our own strength to change or we repent and ask God to work in our hearts and to help us with these shortcomings we battle with.

The key to self-control is not inward, but upward. We need God’s Holy Spirit’s to work in our lives. God won’t work if we don’t ask Him to.  Self-control is not about just saying no as some people believe but it is not as impossible as we might think when we let God do His work in our lives for His Glory.

Self-control is a fruit of the Spirit that must grow within us to transform us. It may not come easily and quickly, but God can change us in His time as we journey WITH Him. All things are possible with God!

1. ooverc.png

Father, My heart and mind are weak. I realize that I am lacking self-control in many areas of my life. I ask you to teach and guide me by Your grace and power. Change me Lord. Grow me. Strengthen me. Grant me wisdom in how to deal with my behavioral problems and wrong thoughts. Holy Spirit, work in my life. 
In Jesus Name, Amen.